Body Balance

When I was young I was sooo flexible. I could both feet behind my head, if you know what I mean. I went to gymnastics and I was decent, even though I was bigger than all the other kids. Eventually I got too self concious about my size in comparison to all the little waifs, and stopped. Now, with all the exercise? I’m still pretty flexible, but I’d like to be more limber.

Why?

Last two weeks, that sex drive that had totally vanished over the past 4 years of depression and weight gain? Yeah, well, um. I think it’s back. I want more hot sex, and I really really enjoy feeling all the things I can do with my body. My man of 6 sex years commented on how I was more active, and we both enjoyed ourselves. I do stretch when I exercise, but I’ve always loved Tai Chi. I tried Body Balance back in the Netherlands and really enjoyed it, I felt wonderful and refreshed afterwards. If you don’t know what Body Balance is, it is one of those pesky Les Mills programs that I am sure a lot of FA people despise due to the image they portray. I certainly find their more aggressive group training programs quite intimidated as someone who is very unfit and is trying to work on their fitness.

However I found Body Balance very exhilarating and liberating. You can really see how flexible you are compared to people with different body shapes (in my case – pretty flexible until the fat gets in the way!)  It’s possible to do it at all fitness levels, shapes and ages – in fact my class in the Hague was filled with all kinds of people, and I didn’t feel out of place at all. Very ‘fat friendly’, if you want a mild way to stretch. Some of the movements are enough to give you small cardio work out, as you will feel your heartbeat raise a bit, especially if you are very overweight like myself.

So, all booked in and looking forward to it!

~ by Pewter on June 21, 2008.

One Response to “Body Balance”

  1. […] Balance Review Jump to Comments I mentioned on Saturday that I would be attending a Body Balance session at my local gym. In the Netherlands I found the exercises moderately difficult, but this time they […]

Leave a Reply

 
