New UK Health Secretary puts his ‘weight’ behind preventative measures

Oh the puns! Andy Burnham, the UK’s new Health Secretary, wants to trim ‘soaring’ health care bills, caused by diabetes and a heart conditions, by putting more money into swimming and other activities. Now I have nothing against making sports and such activities cheaper and more available for all. A gym membership is an expensive thing, and swimming regularly can really hit the monthly budget.

He also did this literally days after his appointment as replacement Health Secretary was announced

I do applaud that whole making it cheaper thing, I do. Yet I can see it becoming another stone to throw at fatties, no matter their lifestyles, another stick to beat us with. OMG IT’S SO CHEAP WHY CAN’T YOU LOSE WEIGHT. Not to mention again the implied correlation between ‘weight’ and those mentioned health problems.

I would like to see the Health Secretary, one day, acknowledge that being fat should not be demonised, or painted as something to ‘prevent’. We’re still human, and I can’t change my metabolism and DNA anymore than I can change my ‘real’ hair colour or the size of my feet.

~ by Pewter on June 8, 2009.

One Response to “New UK Health Secretary puts his ‘weight’ behind preventative measures”

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

Leave a Reply

 
