Etsy Spotlight: Jibri Online

I’ve been a-hunting etsy for plus size fines for well over 12 months now, and 2 things delight me: Plus sizes at no extra cost, and plus size models.

Jibri Online delivers both! The work of designer Jasmine Elder is for ladies of sizes from 14-24, and is available through her etsy store, as well as two boutiques in Atlanta (NV-U and Controversy). She uses fat and fabulous models to advertise her clothing, and her vision definitely seems to be body positive. Many plus size designers fail because they spend their time trying to hide fat. Jibri does not do this, her clothes celebrate the body. Including the belly.

She also does custom measurements for her garments, and most pieces seem to come in an array of colours. I have two particular favourites myself – a swing dress that makes me wish I had smaller boobs. I just can’t get away with swing garments, I look like I’m trying to hide my curves instead of love them. And I wish I had $120 to spare for this gorgous wrap dress in a teal print. That is my perfect wrap dress.

In the grand scheme of things, Jibri’s line is not particularly groundbreaking, but it is truly refreshing to see such fat and fabulous models wearing clothes that I could wear. Igigi’s perfect models don’t come close for me, when trying to figure out what something will look like.

~ by Pewter on June 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
